Topic: HDSP 9632 4.x Driver and Firmware update Sound Quality issue

Hi!

I've been using my RME Hammerfall HDSP9632 since the mid 2000's and have always reveled at the incredible sound quality and hardiness of the card.

The last Firmware update prior to this one was performed approximately 2 years ago, (which caused odd ADAT track numbering consistency issues at the time, but I've adjusted for the inconsistencies) and there were no other issues. 

Most recently, upon experiencing unrelated software issues I decided to check up on the latest RME updates and found the 4.x and Firmware upgrades and installed them, going through the motions of upgrading the drivers to support the Firmware upgrade, then performing the Firmware upgrade, then updating to the 4.x drivers as written in the readmes. 

Since then, while all tracks were consistent in my system and I've integrated the new "Total Mix" software interface, something in the sound quality has changed, though I've found it tough to describe as the change is subtle but yet has an impact. Somewhere between a mix of minor phasing, and compression/low frequency distortion, and degradation on recording and playback. The problem is barely noticeable when you're playing everything from one sound source, however I can't compare to anything else with the exception of hearing the input quality versus the output recording, which used to be consistent.

I would like to know if it were possible to rollback the firmware to its previous state (anyway to check prev Version no.?), along with the previous drivers, if only to check to see if indeed the problem lies here, since I've tried almost everything else.

At this time, I've rolled back the driver to version 3.3.2.0 however the firmware has not been changed since the update.

My relevant setup:

The only outboard direct connection to the card follows:

Yamaha 01V connected via Optical ADAT out/in, + SPDIF connection.