1 (edited by roderrooder 2017-08-02 18:16:44)

Topic: Abysmal Performance With HDSPe AIO

Hello all,

I am very new to the internal audio card game, the interface I switched from was the Gen 1 Scarlett 2i2 interface. I got sick of latency issues and I felt it was hurting my process and desire to make music, after weeks of research I came to the conclusion I wanted an internal PCIe Card. I saw many videos of people getting down to 3-5ms of round trip latency, 3-4x the performance I was getting with my Scarlett. Seemed like a no-brainer, alas either I'm a noob and am doing something wrong or I got a defective card. I was hoping I could get a little help.

I'll start with saying I bought the HDSPe Rev1.4 in a bundle from eBay with output and input expansion boards, I didn't yet fully understand AD/DA Converters and this seemed like the simplest solution to get an internal interface going. After updating the cards firmware and installing drivers I had my output going through the AO4S-192 AIO expansion board into a mixer which is hooked up to my monitors, but wasn't getting the best audio quality. On top of that it appeared the 4th output channel was clipping at almost all times, I contacted the seller and did a partial return on that board and after a bit more research I purchased the ADI-2. Clipping and audio quality sounded great as soon as I hooked it up, after finally installing all my music plugins and software I was ready to see ultra-low latency in action. Unfortunately I did not... Using ASIO running the card at 44100 samples and a 256 buffer size I was already getting occasional clicks and pops, weird. Bumped it down to 128 and I got nothing but crunchy, late, and horrible sounding audio.