1 (edited by newt 2018-09-06 14:41:28)

Topic: Babyface (not pro) with Focusrite Octopre via ADAT and word clock

Hi,

I'm a bit new to this so please go easy on me.

I'm wondering how to use the Focusrite Octopre with the Babyface via ADAT?

My understanding is that there is no ADAT in on the Octopre, so does that mean it's not possible to sync via word clock?

Also, just checking, if I connect a preamp unit (like the octopre but with ADAT in) together via ADAT and word clock sync, will the babyface be a slave of the device connected to it, or the other way around?

Cheers

Newt

Re: Babyface (not pro) with Focusrite Octopre via ADAT and word clock

The Babyface does not have any Word Clock connectivity... So it can only sync to ADAT or provide sync through ADAT.

Regards
Daniel Fuchs
RME

Regards
Daniel Fuchs
RME

Hi

Does that mean that if I use the octopre I will have to use the octopre as the master and the babyface as the slave (since the octopre doesnt have any adat input)?

I'm wondering do I lose anything by going this route? Is there any reason why I would want the babyface to be the master for instance? Just trying to make sure I cover all my bases.

Cheers

Newt

4 (edited by vinark 2018-09-06 15:07:30)

newt wrote:

Hi

Does that mean that if I use the octopre I will have to use the octopre as the master and the babyface as the slave (since the octopre doesnt have any adat input)?

I'm wondering do I lose anything by going this route? Is there any reason why I would want the babyface to be the master for instance? Just trying to make sure I cover all my bases.

Cheers

Newt

No the Octo as master is fine (or perfect...). It is the whole reason it (babyface) can be master or slaved...to use it. It has steadyclock (read up on it if you are really interested in clocking/syncing)

Vincent, Amsterdam
https://soundcloud.com/thesecretworld
Babyface pro fs, HDSP9652+ADI-8AE, HDSP9632

newt wrote:

Hi