Topic: ADI-2 DAC fs - setup for use with external pre and active monitors

Hello,

I am new to the RME and the ADI-2 DAC. The featureset is amazing and deep! Up until now I had been using a Denafrips R2R dac which was fun but didn't quite cut it for my work. I am in the process of trying to set things up effectively in my system and I have a few questions:

I listen in two configurations: Fun and Work.

For fun, I am generally upressing Tidal through Roon to DSD in HQ player and would be using the DSD direct mode, but also sometimes in PCM. The signal chain is:

W10 Workstation>HQ Player to DSD>USB>Intona>USB>RME>XLR>Schiit Freya in tube mode>Neumann HK120a active montitors.

For work, I am listening using AES/EBU out of my video interface to the S/PDIF on the RME - I am often assessing mixes.

Video Interface AES/EBU>RME>XLR>Schiit Freya in passive mode>Neumann HK120a active montitors.

So far I have found that the RME is waaaaay more detailed than the denafrips - way. more. I have also found that the staging on the RME is quite different from the R2R dac - it's sharper but considerably more shallow - even with the tube mode engaged on the pre.

I think that my main question is about the relationship between ref level and volume. If I lock the volume, what would be the ideal relationship between volume level and Ref Level?

So far, I have found that using a locked volume level at -3.5 for PCM and a ref level of +7 integrates the best in my system, but I could pad the neumans some more if need be. I am not sure I am getting the best out of the material through the ADI-2 this way, though.

My second question would be about the DA filters. When using DSD direct, is there a recommended DA filter configuration?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

- J

Re: ADI-2 DAC fs - setup for use with external pre and active monitors