Topic: Issues with using Multiset/Multiface in Disconnect/standalone mode

Sorry for the long post, but I'm completely stumped at this point... 

I have been using the following setup for several years, and it has worked flawlessly:

Fireface 800 (master)
Audiolink 96 Multiset (slave via Adat In) - (this is basically a rebranded Multiface, to the best of my understanding)
Behringer ADA8000 (slave via ADAT In)

I recently purchased a used Multiface to replace the Behringer so that I could have the option of operating at 96k (the Behringer only does 48k).  Against the old adage of "change one thing at a time", I then did the following:

- installed the host Hammerfall PCI card (rev 1.7) into my current audio computer using the 2.9.4.6 driver so that I could configure the I/O boxes
- updated the host Hammerfall PCI card's firmware using the flash update utility dated 2/17/2009 from the RME web site. (no failures during update)
- Updated the FF800's firmware to revision 2.77 using the flash update utility dated 11/03/2009 from the RME web site. (no failures during update)
- set the Multiset to "AutoSync", "ADAT In" under Pref. Sync Ref, 128 sample buffer size, and then selected "Disconnect" prior to unplugging the I/O box

The Multiset now will not link to my Fireface 800 via Adat In.  The Host error light remains on, and the ADAT link light remains off.  I have purchased new ADAT cables, experimented with different buffer settings, etc. with no success.  The Multiface also acts just like the Multiset - both I/O boxes work when connected to the PCI host card, but neither works when I select "Disconnect" and try to use them standalone. 

Other items of interest:

- the Behringer syncs to the FF800 via ADAT In just as it always has
- the FF800 syncs (as slave) to the Multiset or Multiface via ADAT In